Reception Curriculum

Reception Curriculum

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and adapt it to suit individual learning capabilities, providing a child-centred, stimulating and fun approach to learning, indoors and outside.

The curriculum develops key skills such as:

  • speaking and listening
  • concentration
  • persistence
  • learning to work together and co-operate with others

It also develops early communication, literacy and numeracy skills preparing girls for Key Stage One of the National Curriculum, the next step in their education. Seven areas of learning and development are covered in the EYFS curriculum:

Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Art and Design